Semantics Workshop
of the
American Midwest and Prairies
November 20, 2009
University of Chicago
Travel Information

U of C Linguistics

Chicago Linguistic Society
PDF Schedule | HTML Schedule with Abstracts

SWAMP will take place in the Franke Institute for the Humanities, inside the Regenstein Library, which is on 57th Street, between University and Ellis.

Call for Papers

We welcome work that is sufficiently developed for public presentation, but that has not already been submitted for publication or presented at a major conference. Presentations will be 30 minutes long, with 10-15 minutes for questions, depending on the number of participants. We invite presentations of new and original research in semantics and related areas, including (but not limited to) the syntax-semantics interface, pragmatics, philosophy of language, computer science, psycholinguistics, neurolinguistics, and cognitive psychology.

To facilitate the goals of this meeting and keep it informally centered on graduate work, we ask each participant university submit one to two abstracts apiece. Decide among yourselves whose work you would like to submit. Once decided, please submit a short abstract (no more than 500 words) with a title and affiliation(s). Our hope is that everyone who wants to present will have an opportunity to do so, but if time constraints make this impossible, then talks will be selected based on the quality and originality of the work, degree of completeness, and the areas of research represented at the workshop. In addition, although both faculty and students are encouraged to participate, student presentations will be given priority, all other things being equal.

Deadline: October 19th, 2009

Please email a pfd version of your abstract to with subject heading 'SWAMP 2009 submission.' Please include author name(s), affiliation(s) and primary email address(es) in the body of the email. A schedule of presentations will be made available by October 26th.

We look forward to welcoming you to Chicago in November.

Your SWAMP 2009 organizing committee
Ryan Bochnak, Itamar Francez, Peter Klecha, Jasmin Urban